Can more than one person have mineral right to a Section or Range

I’m new at this and have done some investigation at https://bogapps.dnrc.mt.gov and found that the #Field has had some production in 2022, 2023, and 2024. I was approached by Kraken Oil but since it was a recent inheritance I never accepted an offer. 1.Can more than one person have mineral right to a Section or Range? 2. What does the East 33: NE 1/4 mean? 1/4 acre rights? 3. Curious if I’m reading the report correctly. Thank you for your guidance. Ron

There can be hundreds or more owners in a section depending upon where it is located.

NE4 means the Northeast quarter of a section which usually has 640 acres. The NE4 usually has 160 acres, but you probably would not own all of it.

2 Likes

Thank You, how does one find out how much acreage they own ?

Go to the probate documents first as they might state exactly what you own. Also contact the operator to tell them that you inherited and get into pay status if there is production. Ask them what net acres they are carrying for you. You will need to tell them the ancestor, date of death and probaby provide a death certificate and probate documents. Contact their division order department.

1 Like

Talked to a Landman last night I have 2.2 acres. My bother and sister have the same so we total 6.6 acres and wonder if getting a lawyer makes sense.

No reason to get an attorney unless your efforts to find the operator and a simple certified letter return receipt will work first. If you list a section, township and range, we can help point you to the correct operator.

Thank you, you are very kind to share your experience with all these questions. The question of an attorney to review if surface rights should be negotiated. This is the extent of the offer. Our offer is below:

1,000/net mineral acre 3 year term 18.75% royalty