New rig notification

I was notified through Enverus that a new permit was approved to drill 4 new rigs in proximity to my current interest. One of those four has been spudded. Since I’m new to this, when do the operators of the wells have to notify you of these wells? What is process of receiving any royalties from the new rigs? Would I need to sign a new lease agreement for the new rigs? The county is Reeves, Tx. Operator is Apache(Callon).

1 Like

They are not drilling four new “rigs”, they are drilling possibly four new wells with one drilling rig. They do not have to notify you as the data is public. If they are “near” to your current interest then they may or may not affect you at all. Your mineral interests must lie within the spacing unit for the drainage of the wells into order to receive royalties. You would have already been contacted for a lease for the wells if they pertain to your interest. If you post your abstract number and names of the new wells, someone on the forum can help you further.

1 Like

You will not be notified unless your lease has a provision for that.

1 Like

Forgive me as I’m very new at this and terminology. When I look at Enverus, it says Permit-new drill approved on 3 wells. Poutine Unit 57-330W 10UA, Poutine Unit 57-330E 3LA & 11UA. Also, under Rig activity it says Poutine Unit 57-330W 17H has been spudded. We are already receiving royalties for Poutine Unit 57-330W 2H, Poutine Unit 57-330E 9H & 10H. The abstract is 472 Block 13 section 57

This is all recently inherited so I’m unsure of what the current lease agreement says, just figured if these new wells/rigs were nearby and basically same names on same property then the operator would notify of any new interest due or ask for new lease authorization. I understand interest wouldn’t be due until the ‘new’ wells/rigs were completed and producing.