Oil and Gas Lease

I am new to the group and have many questions! First, I have received a request to lease from Tucker Oil Properties for my interest in 79.73 acres of Section 31, Township 11N, Range 5W. They are offering a lease for 3 years (primary term) and 2 year extension at 3/16th royalty. They are offering $400.00 per mineral acre for the 5 years. I have no experience in oil and gas and have no idea how to know if this is fair or not and how to find exactly where this land is. It is inherited land from grand-parents and I know very little about it. How do I find it on a map? How do I know if they drill whether it will mess up the land for whomever owns the property? How do I make sure they clean up after they are finished? How do I keep up with what is being produced and whether they are paying appropriately? I feel so out of my league with all this but feel responsible for trying to understand as much as I can. I live in Texas so I feel that some of the laws here (I have done just a little research) are probably different. I don't want to sign the lease until I know it is the best I can get. Thank you for any help you can give.

Welcome! Glad you found the forum. I think you will find it helpful. You asked some good questions.

First of all, "breathe". Don't let the land man rush you. These things can take months. I will try to go through each of your questions, but it may take more than one message.

-First offers are usually low, so go ahead and tell him that you are not interested in the two year extension should he wish to make a higher offer, he can send it to you. The leasing is just starting in this area, so you do not want to be the first ones in. Superior Title Services is also leasing, so you could contact them as well. I do everything in writing, so I have a very clear paper trail. Phone conversations can be rushed and confusing. Memories are not always the same between the two parties.

- I am attaching a map so you can find it.