Oil and gas mineral rights land sale

Hello, I have the option to sell both surface and mineral rights back to the tribe. I have the appraisal price and do have the option to negotiate with the tribe. I have never done this before, any advice on how to negotiate for a larger amount? Thank you.

Be sure to understand any potential tax consequences from capital gains. Many people are surprised come tax season. Ask your tax professional about “basis” and how that relates to tax consequences.

This post is not legal, tax or investment advice. Reading or responding to this post does not create an attorney/client relationship.

1 Like

Depending upon your location, you may want to consider any pending activity as that might not be factored into the appraisal price. If you give the section, township and range, we may be able to help.

Hi. It is allotment No. 801 1306-A, “Heap of Hair” E NE NE; E W NE NE; N NE SE NE; NENW SE NE of Sec. 14 TWP 14N, R10W, Canadian County, IM, Oklahoma containing 37.50 acres (I own 1/10 of those acres, surface and mineral). I do have an appraised price on it but was wondering if I can ask for more. There is current drilling on it, but the lease checks have been extremely small the past two years. The other one is Allotment No. 801 1441, “Rambling Woman” described as NW of Sec. 15 TWP 13N, R12W, Blaine County, IM, Oklahoma containing 160.00 acres (Again I own 1/10 of this, surface and mineral)

SLOW DOWN. 14-14N-10W Marathon is the current operator for Heap of Hairs BIA. They were just bought by ConocoPhillips last week. I suspect there will be some adjustment of priorities in the next few months.